Top Ten Tuesday 2/9 – Love Is All You Need

Hello, lovelies! It’s been ages since I’ve written one of these (I think close to a year actually?), but getting back on my blogging game–I’ve only missed one day so far this month–means that I get to start joining in more of the fun-filled weekly memes, including the delightful Top Ten Tuesday hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This week is a Valentine’s Day/”Love Freebie,” so I figured I would get back to basics and just list 10 of my favorite fictional couples. Yes, I know, I’m ace, but that doesn’t mean I can’t love reading about the emotions of fictional characters, okay?

This list is by no means definitive–it is a mix of old favorites and then some I really liked from books I’ve read in the past year or so. I’m sure I’m missing a bunch. Please don’t be too harsh on me; I’m still getting back into the swing of things.

Without further ado, let’s begin!

  1. Vin and Elend (Mistborn) – honestly, relationship goals. So much trust and genuine love between them, and–though this may come as a shock to some of you–there is no smut and very little focus on any physical romance. And yet their love is not even remotely questionable; honestly it is one of the healthiest fictional couples I’ve ever read.
  2. David and Genya (Grisha trilogy) – yes, there are plenty of people who argue over which of the many boys Alina should have ended up with, but alongside her classic love triangle (quadrangle?), we had this lovely couple spring up. Beautiful Genya and brilliant David, the couple nobody expected, whose love withstands even some major personal tragedies and, you know, nation-shattering acts of terror.
  3. Jesper and Wylan (Six of Crows) – while we’re in the Grishaverse, of course I have to talk about the Crows. I love all three couples, but Wesper is…the best, I guess. Not necessarily my favorite to read about, but if we’re ranking them, they feel the most wholesome and feel-good. Why? Well, Kaz and Inej have issues they need to work out (though I love them both as individuals, their romantic side is rocky), and Nina and Matthias are both so headstrong that I don’t find them as adorable as Wylan Van Sunshine and Jesper “Not Just Girls” Fahey. They’re cute and awkward and funny and…aaaaahhhhhh my feelings.
  4. Alex and Henry (Red, White, & Royal Blue) – enemies-to-lovers gay couple with witty banter and the power to spark a social justice revolution? Heck yes. These two never failed to make me smile.
  5. Jack and Alexis (Wayward Children) – they’re such an unlikely pair–a scientist with an intense fear of germs, in a relationship with a girl she literally resurrected from a corpse–but they’re both so supportive of each other and pretty dang cute. Jack is always so rigid, and it’s nice to see her being softer with someone.
  6. Sweetie and Ashish (There’s Something About Sweetie) – all of the Dimpleverse couples are cute, but I found these two to be especially great. From their first “date,” where she challenged him to a race and won, to their general constant lifting each other up, they’re a solid feel-good romcom couple.
  7. Tory and Olivia (Into the Drowning Deep) – something about this lesbian couple, bonding on a ship being attacked by man-eating mermaids, is still shockingly wholesome?? Their relationship was one of the rare rays of sunshine in a tale that was pretty dang dark.
  8. Nick and Charlie (Heartstopper) – they’re both gay disasters and THEY’RE BOTH SO FREAKING CUTE. I can’t say anything more, I just want to protect their precious sunshine hearts.
  9. Will and Ollie (Only Mostly Devastated) – this Grease retelling was one of my favorite books last year. You couldn’t expect me to not love the central couple, could you?
  10. Ronan and Adam (The Raven Cycle) – the Edgy Boi and the Soft Boi is a trope I love. These two bring out the best in each other and I am here. for. it. For those of you who have read the series: “The ocean roared.” I get goosebumps reading that passage. Like, dang.

So, that’s my roughly-constructed list. I’m sure I missed some of my faves and will kick myself later when I realize who I left out, but…we’ll run with it, okay? These are all couples I would wholly recommend, regardless of whether I might have made some glaring omissions as well. Interesting note: 7 of these 10 are queer couples. I don’t know why that is; guess I’m just a sucker for non-hetero things? Certainly not complaining.

Are any of your favorites on this list? Who are your faves that I didn’t list? Leave a comment and let me know!

All the best,

Kathryn (“K-Specks”) Speckels

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 2/9 – Love Is All You Need

  1. vee_bookish February 9, 2021 / 12:23 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’ve been thinking about my fave book couples today and somehow completely forgot about Nick & Charlie 😭 I am the worst fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathryn Speckels February 9, 2021 / 12:41 pm

      Nah, you’re not the worst fan–there are SO many good books and cute couples out there, it’s easy for some to slip through the cracks! Especially if they’re top favorites, sometimes we mentally take them for granted. I almost forgot to include Ronan and Adam even though The Raven Cycle is one of my favorite series ever!

      Like

  2. acourtofbooksandbrews February 9, 2021 / 1:26 pm

    I haven’t read a lot of these books. But all the yes to Alex & Henry in RWRB!! I cannot put into words how much I love them. Also, I have Heartstopper on my TBR and can’t wait to get to it! – Christie

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathryn Speckels February 10, 2021 / 9:54 am

      Heartstopper is SO good–and it flies by so quickly! Pro tip, the author actually has the entire thing posted on Webtoons in chapter-by-chapter installments, so you can read it all in little fragments while on the go if you want (plus she has a small caption on each chapter and includes relevant trigger/content warnings if that’s something that’s helpful to you)!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jess @ Jessticulates February 9, 2021 / 3:53 pm

    Great list! I love Wylan and Jesper, they’re so sweet, and Nick and Charlie are absolutely adorable, too. A big yes to Tory and Olivia! I didn’t love that book as much as I hoped to, but their relationship is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathryn Speckels February 10, 2021 / 9:55 am

      See I loved the book, but I think that speaks to how great their relationship is if you didn’t love the book but still loved them!! I also just really like that it’s a sweet romance in a book that is anything but romantic 🙂

      Like

    • Kathryn Speckels February 10, 2021 / 9:58 am

      It’s funny because Mistborn is definitely not a romance book–the author says all the time that he really is not a romance author and isn’t good at it, which is why he doesn’t include much in his books–but Vin and Elend are like my go-to example of a super healthy fictional couple. It shows even more as the books progress; you really see how great they are by the third book because their closeness and ability to trust each other is so central to the plot.

      Like

  4. Mary Drover February 10, 2021 / 10:12 am

    I have so many thoughts on Alina just in general because she’s one of my favorite Grishaverse characters, but I also just adore Genya & David so damn much! They’re so cute together, and so soft, and I’m just so happy every time I read about them. Wylan is also one of my top five faves, too, and him blushing over Jesper is just literally never not going to make me giggle incessantly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathryn Speckels February 10, 2021 / 11:42 am

      I don’t mind Alina as a character (not my fave, but not bad), I just think both of her primary love interests (we aren’t counting Nikolai) are poor choices for her. I would have loved it if she just went off on her own at the end, being independent and finding a guy who actually deserved her, ya know?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Drover February 10, 2021 / 9:50 pm

        YES OH MY GOSH! Okay, quick aside, still bitter that she snubbed Nikolai, they could have it all, but I digress. I do love Mal (and the Darkling, but he’s toxic af, and no thanks), but I also would have DIED if Alina could just be on her own at the end, happy and at peace and not having to worry about anyone else ever again.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kathryn Speckels February 12, 2021 / 10:20 pm

        THANK YOU. I feel like most people are so strongly “team Mal” or “team Darkling” and they forget that really, Team Alina is the only one we really need!

        And yeah, I agree Nikolai was by FAR the best choice, but she blew it. And his romantic arc in King of Scars works surprisingly well, so I’m not complaining! (Also idk if Nikolai and Alina would have worked well long term, because she wants peace/calm and he wants adventure–feel like they would have ended up clashing too much on that? But idk.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mary Drover February 13, 2021 / 5:59 pm

        Oh yeah, they definitely wouldn’t have worked long term because Nikolai is just a bundle of chaos, and I do really like his romantic arc in KoS, so hopefully he’ll get his happy ending eventually!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment